Cricket Club, PetrockstowePetrockstowe Cricket Club was founded in 2002 by a hard working group of enthusiasts who turned a meadow into a cricket ground surrounded by a nine hole ‘pitch n’ put’ golf area. The Petrockstowe Recreation Ground (Post Code EX20 3QF) is adjacent to the old Petrockstowe railway station.

In the early days the Club played only friendly matches with neighbouring villages and various touring sides. The teams changed in an ex-army `field tent` which also included a table for a bar with a barrel of beer which was run by Julie Harris and the late Steve Packer.

In 2009 Petrockstowe was accepted into Division 5 of the North Devon League. The Club was also awarded a Sport for All Lottery Grant of £5,058 which enabled the Committee  to buy a new `state of the art` Atco mower and a self-propelled roller which were ideal to use for producing League Standard wickets! In addition, the ex-army tent was replaced with a portacabin, plus two new sightscreens and a new scorebox were added to the venue.

In 2010, the Cricket Club purchased three large wooden sheds from the Clinton Estate; these were to become the new clubhouse.  After two years of hard work by volunteers, the clubhouse was officially opened by Lord Clinton in May 2012. The new facility now comprises of kitchens, toilets and changing facilities.

After starting in Division 5 the club has since moved up through the leagues to Division 2.

What better way to spend a Sunday afternoon than to watch the cricket at the Petrockstowe Recreation Ground whilst sipping a delightful beer from the Boundary Bar!

President                           Lord Clinton

Chairman                          Ken Heaman

Team Captain                   Karl Winsor

Treasurer                           Steve Cox

Secretary                            David Kelsey